Senator Santarsiero Announces $665,750 in Local School Safety and Security Grants

BUCKS COUNTY — February 26, 2020 — State Senator Steve Santarsiero (D-10) announced state funding for school and community safety totaling $665,750 for school districts located in Senate District 10.

Act 44 of 2018 created a School Safety and Security Fund for the purposes of providing funding to school districts for school safety and security concerns.  Today, $60 million was distributed for school safety programs. The Pennsylvania Commission on Crime and Delinquency (PCCD) awarded the funds to eligible school entities, including school districts, intermediate units, area vocational-technical schools, charter schools and private rehabilitative institutions.

“I’m glad that so many school districts in Bucks County have received grants from the School Safety and Security Fund,” said Sen. Santarsiero. “Schools should be a place of learning and growth, and making sure that our students and faculty feel safe, and are in fact safe, in their classrooms is a crucial component of fostering that productive environment.”

Funds awarded to school districts in Senate District 10 were distributed as follows:

  • Central Bucks School District: $45,000
  • Council Rock School District: $465,750
  • Morrisville Borough School District: $30,000
  • New Hope Solebury School District: $35,000
  • Pennridge School District: $45,000
  • Pennsbury School District: $45,000

Funds can be used for a wide variety of items, based on the needs of the entity. These uses can include the purchase of equipment, trainings, programs, counseling services, planning, screenings, and to secure behavioral health care professionals and support.

To learn more about the School Safety and Security Fund, please visit PCCD’s website.

Sen. Steve Santarsiero represents the 10th Senatorial District, which includes: Bedminster Township, Buckingham Township, Chalfont, Doylestown, Doylestown Township, Dublin, East Rockhill Township, Falls Township, Haycock Township, Hilltown Township, Lower Makefield Township, Morrisville, New Britain, New Britain Township, New Hope, Newtown, Newtown Township, Perkasie, Plumstead Township, Sellersville, Silverdale, Solebury Township, Telford, Tullytown, Upper Makefield Township, West Rockhill Township, and Yardley.