Senator Santarsiero Announces $118,200 in Funding to Bucks County Workforce Development Board

BUCKS COUNTY — January 17, 2020 — State Senator Steve Santarsiero (D-10) announced the award of $118,200 in funding to the Bucks County Workforce Development Board (BCWDB) as part of the Department of Labor and Industry’s (L&I) Business-Education Partnership (BEP) grant awards, which allocated a total of $2.4 million through 19 grants. The purpose of these partnerships is to bring schools and employers together in providing opportunities for students to prepare for the workforce.

“The Bucks County Workforce Development Board continues to do outstanding work in growing our local industries through cultivating the very best talent,” said Sen. Santarsiero. “This additional funding will help the BCWDB provide even more opportunities for its students, and for employers in search of local, skilled workers.”

The mission of the BCWDB is “to promote, drive, and ensure an effective workforce in Bucks County aligned with economic development.”

“The Career Exploration and Employability Skills project will serve Bucks County in school youth and Bucks County business by preparing Bucks County students for tomorrow’s opportunities. Our goal is to increase awareness and opportunities for students and educators of career paths specifically in manufacturing, healthcare and other in-demand industries in our county,” said Billie Barnes, Director of the Bucks County Workforce Development Board. “This funding will support projects that will build stronger connections between young people and local employers, giving students the skills they need to succeed and providing businesses with a job-ready workforce.”

To learn more about the BCWDB, visit their website.

To learn about funding opportunities through L&I, visit their website.

Sen. Steve Santarsiero represents the 10th Senatorial District, which includes: Bedminster Township, Buckingham Township, Chalfont, Doylestown, Doylestown Township, Dublin, East Rockhill Township, Falls Township, Haycock Township, Hilltown Township, Lower Makefield Township, Morrisville, New Britain, New Britain Township, New Hope, Newtown, Newtown Township, Perkasie, Plumstead Township, Sellersville, Silverdale, Solebury Township, Telford, Tullytown, Upper Makefield Township, West Rockhill Township, and Yardley.